On the Fence–Book Release Parties

Are you on the fence about your book release party choices?

20130312_140633-1-2

We wait, for what seems an eternity, to publish our books online and/or offline. We subject ourselves and our work to grueling hours and the sweat we must pour out for the finished product. But what choices work best for that grand celebration of said work? I have seen many Twitter posts and received lots of online book release party invites. My very first online book party was that of The Ruby Curse by Makayla Yokley. It was an after release party. I had no idea what I was doing, stumbling over Facebook, trying to interact. Still, a pleasant experience and party.

By the next online party, I was a little better prepared and ended up winning an e-book copy of the author’s book. (Heart Song by Samantha LaFantasie). Even though it got easier to maneuver in and out of online parties, I chose to have an offline book release party for my debut novel The Throne of Olympus. Many factors played a role, but the biggest one–How can it be pulled off in such a short time, especially with my lack of know-how on social media and no readily available help?

The offline release party was a must. It was something planned out throughout my writing and I knew the perfect place to have it…the local coffee house. Perfect because one of the m/c’s is a coffee mogul heir and another m/c is addicted to the stuff. There are so many things you can do with a physical location, but that’s for another post.

I’m still a little on the fence, but definitely entertaining the thought of online release parties for book two and my YA spin-off series. Both ways grant opportunities and exposure and a great way to celebrate your work.

Which do you prefer? Any tips on how to host an online book release party?

Leave a Reply

